The long road ahead.

For me it’s simple. I want to be financially free to do whatever I want with my life.

Monday morning for me starts with me wishing that the weekend wasn’t over yet. After pressing snooze a couple of times I rush thru the morning routine. I get to work 45 min away with the subway that hopefully isn’t late, because of a jammed door or something else. I take my place at my desk in an open floor cubicle enclosed environment. I start the computer to check the e-mail, that always seems to crash, and start to crunch the numbers for that weeks report. Then coffee break, work, lunch, work and another coffee before I leave work for home. Having this same routine for the better part of my life is a depressing thought. I feel my stomach turn a little as a imagine having to spend my life inside an office cubicle working on the latest set of pointless reports. Some of you would just tell me to go get a new job or stop complaining about a job that so many today might not have. First off, I have worked at a number of different companies before with varying work roles in my work field (Finance). 

It’s left me feeling a bit tired about what I do and the daydreaming of a different life get’s stronger and stronger every time. So I want to get of this boat.

My goal is to find financial independence and to do that I need a pile of cash. A big pile of it. How big you ask? Well, here’s where the number crunching comes in handy. My current salary is about 420,000 SEK a year. In dollars you need to divide it with either 7,5-8,5 pending on the exchange rate but around : 52,500 Dollars. I use roughly 62 % of my after tax income for my expenses. which means I would need roughly 260.000 a year to live on. If we use the 4 % rule where we would live of 4 % of the capital we have invested in incoming bringing assets. I would need around 6,500,000 SEK. That’s a respectable number. However, my life is not going to stay the same way that it is now. I would like to travel a lot more. And I would like to leave a little money for my family. plus, I would like to challenge myself and join the million dollar club out there. That would mean I needed about 7,5-8,5 million SEK. Aish, that sounds like a lot more of a challenge. You know what. Lets aim even higher. I want 10,000,000 SEK, an 8 digit nr. That would be enough for me and any plan I would have for myself in the future. Plus, it feels and sounds so much cooler than a measly 1 million US dollar.

So that’s my goal. 10,000,000 SEK.

Timeline? ooh. That’s a hard one. I’d like to split it up in three different time goals as I have three different amounts above. The first one is to have enough to live on, the 6,5 MSEK. The second would be my 1 M USD, and finally the last would be my 10 MSEK.

First finish line. in 8 years

Second one in 10 years

and finally the third goal in 12 years. I will be turning 41 years old by then. Would love to congrats myself with 10 million SEK for my 40th birthday, so let’s make that the stretch goal :).

  1. 6.500.000 SEK in net worth in 8 years.
  2. 1.000.000 USD in 10 years.
  3. 10.000.000 SEK in 12 years.

The goal is set! Now I only need to get there.

About financethingsinlife

I am an Investor, a gentleman, and a dreamer. My goal is to achieve financial independance thru investing and saving.
This entry was posted in The Beginning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

