Financial freedom to geographical freedom.

Machu PicchuFor most of us, life is generally based around work and where you live. You get static in the place you are. You work and live in the same area. Sure, you can always travel for a week or two a year to some exotic country….but you are still confined to your little area on this earth. This is true for most of us. However, I’ve been introduced to a more adventurous lifestyle thru my gf. She absolutely loves travelling, and she travels hardcore. I’ve started to join her in these adventurous quests around the world and the last trip had us traveling in South America. In this trip I saw the real South America. I was hiking in Machu Picchu, we took a night bus from hell to the desert in Bolivia. We were on bikes in the wine district Mendoza in Argentina. Which included some wine tasting of course. We had two of her friends joining us for new year in Peru, running around a square in Cusco for good fortunes. In short, it was amazing. There are so many great memorize and I’ve only mentioned a fraction of the things we experienced on this trip. This was just one trip and she has already signed me up for three more trips for this year.  Well, I absolutely love to travel. I would like to spend more time away to experience the real culture of all the countries we visit.

Such an adventure is part of the finer things in life for me. It is so much more than the luxury of a spa day or flying first class to new york. I want to spend my time experience amazing things in this life I live. It really emphasis what I mean with the finance things in life. To be able to have the financial power to experience these ones in a life time moments.

Don’t get me wrong, I admire elegance and have an appreciation of the finer things in life. But to me, beauty lies in Simplicity. – Mark Hyman.

Financial freedom would give me the option of geographical freedom. Think about it for a second. If I have the money and time from financial freedom to travel a lot more I would jump on that chance in a heartbeat. I would be able to “slow travel” which means spending a lot more time in a country to experience the real culture. For instance going to Thailand and live there for a couple of months, or why not a year or two before picking up my things and move on to the next country. Maybe return to South America for a trip thru the countries I missed in my last trip? If that gets too warm, maybe I can live in Iceland for a few months (Not sure my gf would like that since she is all about that tropical beach heat).

A lot of these countries are also a lot cheaper to live in than my own country. I think Sweden is top 5 or top 10 most expensive countries to live in at the moment. So living and traveling to all these exotic countries might actually save me a lot of money. You could even plan it out and adjust your travels between more expensive countries like Schweiz and alternate with a cheaper country like Thailand. There are even some families out there who actually “retire” to a financially independent lifestyle a bit earlier then planned by moving to a cheaper country. Of course, having a family would add a bit complexity to it but I definitely still see it as a possibility. I mean, if they can do it, why not me?

Which country would you spend a year in if you could choose any country at all? I was thinking Australia personally. However, it seems like every animal and insect there could kill you. So I might pick a safer bet like New Zeeland, and find my own little hobbit hole for a year.
Hobbit hole

About financethingsinlife

I am an Investor, a gentleman, and a dreamer. My goal is to achieve financial independance thru investing and saving.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

