The change that never happend

So, in a previous post I talked about my job having some interesting opportunities regarding different roles in a new organization. I saw this as a possibility to find something more interesting and challenging to do as I currently lack some of the key motivations you need in order to do a great job. So how did it go?

Well, I had some really interesting interviews about some very interesting roles. I also had a lot of fun. I’ve forgotten how fun it can be sometimes to have interviews. It’s something I’ve always enjoyed. So how did it go then? Did I get a new job?

No. I didn’t! Was I suprised? Not really, but that was because of the inside information I got from my manager that described how the process really went. The structure was well-known before by managers and they knew in advance what roles they would have to fill and what kind of skills/people they wanted. Therefor it was more of a card game where the managers traded the people they didn’t want to keep and kept the ones the wanted of course. This all happened even before the announcement of the new organizational structure. So, in other words, the interviews and application was completely unnecessary. I was picked by my manager before I even had looked at other roles to stay at my current role.

In a way, I understand that the best practice is to keep the people you have in the roles you already have in order to get the best performance out of your team. However, don’t let us go thru the process of applying and interviewing if there was no real intention of letting us switch jobs. So far I have not heard about anyone getting a new role. Which makes me question if the whole interview process was a sham. Either way, I’m not happy about it.

In closing, I will start to look around for a new job. If there’s anything I can take away from this process it’s that I really enjoyed looking for a new job and had fun going on interviews. I’m in no  particular hurry, so I can be picky about the roles I apply for as well. You could say that I found new motivation, just not for the current job. So the allure of change got a hold of me and I am more than ever sure that new challenges await at a new job. Congratulation boss, you made change happen, just not sure it was the type of change you were hoping for.

About financethingsinlife

I am an Investor, a gentleman, and a dreamer. My goal is to achieve financial independance thru investing and saving.
This entry was posted in The Income side of life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The change that never happend

  1. Interviewing can definitely be an energy jolt to the system. Too bad you felt the interview process at your company was a sham, seems like it just wasted peoples time. Good luck on the job hunt, hopefully it bears some fruit towards your financial independence.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I try to see the logic behind it but I fail. I think there is some union issues that they needed to appease in order to achieve the legal merge as soon as possible. I hope to kick the job search in motion as soon as I’m done with my current apartment renovation. Thanks for the support!

    Like

  3. ChasingGains says:

    Damn sorry to hear ! 😦
    Hopefully you have some luck in your new job hunt, it’s good you can take your time in picking your new role so you can at least choose a role that will suit you as well as one you like!
    Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

